How do i "lock the crank" on my saxon 500?

Vehicles equipped with the 500 cc Rotax engine

Moderators: DAVID THOMPSON, phlat65

How do i "lock the crank" on my saxon 500?

Postby ncmz » Fri Apr 29, 2011 9:48 pm

I am attempting to fix the starter sprag clutch on my 95 Saxon Tour. I found this wonderful forum and the post on how to do what I need to do. Well... except the little detail of exactly how to lock the crank. (I'm new to this kind of thing.) Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Also, I can't seem to be able to kick start the thing. I use the compression release, opening it as little as possible, I look for the mark through the little peep-sight on the side of the engine, and kick and kick and kick... I tried different throttle positions, cursing it, apologizing, begging... and then I pushed it 7 miles home--with more cursing involved. It does occasionally start--maybe one time out of fifty attempted starts. I have seen videos on-line of people kick starting an MZ, and it seemed quite effortless. Any suggestions? (I should mention that it has stalled on me a few times--once going 60 mph--and refused to start again.)

Thank you! (Love the forum!)

Jack
North Carolina, USA
ncmz

Re: How do i "lock the crank" on my saxon 500?

Postby 95SaxonTour » Fri Apr 29, 2011 10:38 pm

Never had to do the sprag on mine, thank god. The folks here seem to suggest using the decomp lever to shut down the motor. I always have, mainly because the previous owner diconnected the kill switches to force the use of the lever to kill it.
It saves wear on the sprag somehow.