95 Skorpion Sport - how to remove carburator?

Black Panther/Street Moto, Baghira, Enduro, Mastiff, Skorpion Traveller and Tour.

Moderators: DAVID THOMPSON, phlat65

95 Skorpion Sport - how to remove carburator?

Postby WaiNYC » Sun Sep 13, 2015 8:42 pm

Hello! I have just started a project to restore a 1995 Skorpion Sport and can use a little communal help from this forum.

The bike has never been dropped and has only 3000 miles. But it has been sitting around for about 10 years. the first eight garaged and covered. The last two years outdoors but also covered. The bike is very clean.

This is my first time being an auto-mechanic. And I figured the Skorpion is perfect for me to learn. I have bought several bike maintenance books and have an e-copy of Yamaha's SZR600 shop manual.

So far, I have cleaned and flushed the fuel tank, and cleaned the petcock; installed a new battery and all lights work; checked air filter; checked spark plug; and changed motor oil and filter.

My first question -- How important is it to clean the wire screen inside the "coarse oil filter", as suggested by the user manual? I am asking because the hex screw is quite stuck... I am thinking to just leave it be. Your thoughts?

Pix Coarse oil filter.jpg

As I understand it, the biggest work item for this restoration is the cleaning out of gas residue in the carb. A few questions concerning this:

- How do I remove the carburetor from that tight space between the engine and airbox? Do I just loosen the four clamps that connect it to the engine and airbox and then wiggle the carb loose? or is there a way to create some space for its removal?

- Other than the four clamps, are there other screws / fasteners that "tie" the carb down to the bike?

After the carb, I will replace coolant, brake and clutch fluids, and inspect suspensions and brakes. Hopefully, the bike will then be road-worthy.

Thank you for the help with my questions here.

Wai, in NYC
WaiNYC