Skorpion SV650 Rear Wheel Help

Black Panther/Street Moto, Baghira, Enduro, Mastiff, Skorpion Traveller and Tour.

Moderators: DAVID THOMPSON, phlat65

Skorpion SV650 Rear Wheel Help

Postby warp_rider » Tue Jan 02, 2018 4:37 pm

Hey everyone, I'm new to MZ bikes, but pretty familiar with building up underdog street bikes.

I just bought a 2000 Skorpion Tour, and I'm building a canyon carver out of it.
Planning on doing the SV650 fork and wheel swap on the front (until I can figure out how to mount my GSXR front end) and there's a guy that has a complete 2006 parts bike for dirt cheap, and I was wondering; what kind of hassle I have to go through to mount that SV rear wheel on my Skorpion?

I've seen Skorpions with Suzuki wheels, but have not been able to find any information on what is required to mount them.

I also saw something about using an aluminum DRZ400SM swingarm, but have also come up with zero information on how to install it.

Anyway, these bikes are pretty rad, and I appreciate any help I can get. Cheers.
Last edited by warp_rider on Thu Jan 04, 2018 3:51 am, edited 1 time in total.
Motorcycles... because I don't have a healthy way of dealing with my emotions...
(instagram @the_warp_rider)
warp_rider

Re: Skorpion Rear Wheel Help

Postby edfmaniac » Tue Jan 02, 2018 8:07 pm

The only wheel swap I've seen specs published for is the SZR 660 swap. They can be hard to find but are light and easily mounted on the Skorpion swing arm with the addition of the SZR caliper mounting plate and a little machining. The front also fits the Skorp with even less modification, just a wheel spacer. Add some Ractech valves to the stock forks and you are good to go. :D

I should add that the same wheels came on other model bikes, but I don't know the specifics and don't have links for you right now.
01 Skorpion Traveler 660
edfmaniac

Re: Skorpion Rear Wheel Help

Postby warp_rider » Tue Jan 02, 2018 8:29 pm